A Ruinous End to a Riotous Evening

blogart06

So here’s how Control is put together.  It’s a trilogy, but each book in the trilogy is split into three parts.  I’ve finished the first two parts of Book One and I am working through the third and final part now.

As you can imagine, there are a lot of loose ends to tie off.  All tales need an end, even if they are to become the beginning of another, and this being a long and ugly war with very high stakes to play for, I am sure you can also imagine that these ends aren’t all going to be the pretty kind.

A group of soldiers stand with the civilians they are sworn to protect against impossible odds and in the midst of that fight there are some people who let their grief get the better of them.  The cost is high for everyone, but at the end of this arc, which was a simple thing when it began, there are still decisions to be made and I am struggling to make them.

When I started this particular arc I had a clear path, but as the characters and the situation have grown this path has wandered a little.  There was an A and a B and the journey in in between, but while B is still B, it’s starting to look a whole lot like something else the closer I get.

Without giving anything away, people do bad things, things they think are right at the time and it costs them dearly.  At the end of the night of their last desperate stand there are moral decisions to make and I was surprised to discover that none of these decisions were right.  Every single outcome has a price and working that into a set piece involving dozens of characters has been something of a challenge.

The characters are all waiting, the penultimate scene having been set, and they wait in silence for me to choose a path.  There is no right or wrong, I know that now, and what was supposed to be a triumphant end to a desperate battle has become something of cautionary tale.

This whole book is a best guess at war in the future.  I have no real experience to offer this story from that perspective, but I as I play things out to what I believe might be their logical conclusions I am coming to understand how complex war and its moral burden really is.  If you have any thoughts I would welcome them.

A ruinous end to a riotous evening if ever I saw one.

Leave a Reply

